Dr. Michael Sorrell

The Dallas Foundation Names Dr. Michael Sorrell as Next Board of Governors Chair

DALLAS – April 12, 2021 – The Dallas Foundation, the first community foundation in Texas, is proud to announce the appointment of Dr. Michael Sorrell, President of Paul Quinn College, as the next Chair of The Dallas Foundation’s Board of Governors. Sorrell follows in the footsteps of his predecessor Jeanne Whitman Bobbitt, who served as Chair since 2019.

Sorrell began his tenure on The Dallas Foundation’s Board of Governors in 2015, and is an active member of its Community Philanthropy Committee. With half a decade of experience serving the organization, Sorrell will lead the 16 members of The Dallas Foundation’s Board of Governors in building on the strategic plan adopted in 2019 and overseeing the governance of the Foundation’s funds.

“The Dallas Foundation is thrilled to have Michael lead our next era of impact as we work to work to reduce intergenerational poverty and make Dallas a brighter and more equitable community,” said Matthew Randazzo, President & CEO of The Dallas Foundation. “Michael brings a distinguished track record of success on issues facing Dallas and we look forward to his thought partnership and board leadership as we build a community where everyone can thrive.”

“Reducing intergenerational poverty by investing in the earliest years of a child’s life will yield dividends for future generations and ensure that Dallas becomes an opportunity rich community for all of our neighbors,” said Dr. Sorrell. “This is important work and I am honored to serve as Chair of The Dallas Foundation’s Board of Governors as we focus on one of the most pressing issues facing our community today.”

Sorrell is a demonstrated and well-known leader in Dallas and is the longest-serving President in the history of Paul Quinn College. Under his leadership, the institution has become nationally recognized as one of the most innovative colleges in the country and is renowned for its efforts to remake higher education to serve the needs of under-resourced students and communities. Sorrell has received numerous awards for his dedication to education, the City of Dallas, and the legal community. He received his Ed.D. from the University of Pennsylvania (where his dissertation defense was awarded “with Distinction”), J.D. and M.A. in Public Policy from Duke University, and his B.A. in Government from Oberlin College.

Current members of The Dallas Foundation’s Board of Governors include: Lyda Addy (Community Volunteer); Steffan Fuchs (McKinsey & Company); Chris Luna (T-Mobile US, Inc.); S. Todd Maclin (Maclin Management); Clint D. McDonnough, Secretary (Community Volunteer); Mark Okada (Sycamore Tree Capital Partners); Elizabeth Carlock Phillips (The Phillips Foundation); Trever R. Rees-Jones (Rees-Jones Holdings); Catherine M. Rose (Community Volunteer); Lizzie H. Routman (Community Volunteer); Amber Scanlan (PNC Bank); Jeremy Smith (Rainwater Charitable Foundation); Mary Suhm (Community Volunteer); Jeanne Whitman Bobbitt, Immediate Past Chair (Community Volunteer) and Patsy Woods Martin (Community Volunteer).

The Dallas Foundation, established as the first community foundation in Texas in 1929, brings together people, ideas, and investments in Greater Dallas so individuals and families can reach their full potential. In 2019, The Dallas Foundation, in partnership with the more than 400 fundholders, invested over $70 million into the community. For more information, visit www.dallasfoundation.org, Facebook or Instagram.

Skip to content